My journey with Acorn Antiques


It’s been 2 weeks since Acorn Antiques finished so I thought now would be the right time to reflect back on my time as a cast member but most importantly as Publicity Manager.

This was the first job that i’ve ever done in leading publicity at such a large scale venue as the Sheffield Lyceum Theatre so I knew that I needed to use all the experience i’d developed from previous roles in publicity from productions back home.

My biggest concern when I was first approached about the role was being able to balance between my publicity role and my role as Minchin’s Lad within the production itself, but they both seemed to fit perfectly alongside each other as the weeks went by. When I wasn’t focused on one role, I was the other, thus making my time at rehearsals rather busy but just the way I like it!

Alongside leading publicity for Acorn Antiques, I was able to work with Fiona Hannon who was Croft House‘s other marketing manager and playing the role of Miss Bonnie in the production. Both of us have had experience in publicity and knew a lot about Croft so ensuring that we kept our eye on the production and fully knew the story and what was going on at rehearsals, marketing the show should be easy… we hoped!

Problems arose when either myself or Fiona were away from rehearsals or involved in a certain scene that we had identified as a piece of potential publicity material that we weren’t able to capture. Often we had to throw a camera or camera-phone at another cast member and ask them to snap away. One of the main points I learnt during my time with Acorn Antiques was that team work is vital in the world of publicity!

Weeks before our move to the Lyceum, I decided that we needed just that extra bit of material online and the only thing that we hadn’t done as a cast would be a video so I took a camera from Uni and began filming. In addition, I was wanting to test myself at University and video was a part of my blog that I hadn’t explored yet so it seemed like the perfect match.

My trailer is still the single piece of work that I am most proud of.

Having my friend Dave available to film half of the rehearsal and me taking over when not rehearsing allowed me to get the shots I wanted. Although it took hours of extra work to put together, i’m so proud of the final piece and will be showing it to many people with projects to come!

https://vimeo.com/61291652

The trailer shows the very best of the show without giving anything away or spoiling the show for those attending weeks later at the Lyceum. It also gave a great morale boost for the cast to see how really amazing the show we have been rehearsing is. Its very easy to become wrapped up in your part and not appreciate the performances others are giving around you so getting to watch others performances, for myself certainly, was a great reward, and I know was for many other cast members too.

Another piece that worked very well for our publicity drive was my interview with the director of Acorn Antiques, Mark Harris. Giving people that extra little look inside the production before either visiting us in March or even deciding on buying a ticket worked really well. People’s curiosity into what the show is even about or what goes on in getting a production to the Lyceum was matched by my interview and gave them that extra bit of inside knowledge they may have been craving.

Moving to the theatre is always difficult when working in publicity as you get caught up so easily in the huge transition the entire production has just made and it tends to slip into second place alongside being a performer within the show. With Acorn Antiques, I wanted to ensure this didn’t happen. This wasn’t helped that I had started a new job on the Monday that we had out dress rehearsal and all our performance week so I needed to make use of any free time I had before I started my new job to complete any outstanding tasks. These included arranging publicity at the theatre; posters and flyers etc, prevent any potential problems with reviews from opening night by contacting all newspaper or online theatre reviewers and letting them know event details and when they can expect production photographs and generally covering anything that could cause time delays or harm the publicity Fiona and I had worked so hard on for months.

I was fortunate to be able to manage the shows online presence by using the Facebook Pages app on my iPhone. Having this gave me access to the Croft House page and ability to publish all photographs to our following from wherever I might be. These were often published during breaks and intervals during my new working day. Although small things, they attracted a vast response from friends and family of Croft and cast members as can be seen from the photographs below.

Connecting with the cast’s friends online allowed for a real buzz to develop around the show and gave everyone that final boost they needed!

Posts throughout the week included….

By adding photographs from band call, technical rehearsal or post-show presentations from honoured guests allowed those that are attending the show later on in the week to have a quick look at how we transition from rehearsal room to stage and beyond. Although a small part of my job, it received a great response online.

And then Fiona and I faced our biggest challenge… VICTORIA WOOD!

Trying to keep our cast from telling the world that she was attending, included through out own excitement, was often difficult but but was all worth it come our Friday evening performance. I know the entire production team, backstage crew and cast were beyond excited and a little scared that the writer and creator of our show was attending that night but it turned out to be a truly mesmerising night for us all and was helped by the swamp of cameras that captured us all meeting Victoria backstage after the show. Finally, a moment where a publicity manager didn’t have to take control with a camera!

My favourite moment from Friday evening wasn’t meeting Victoria Wood but that in some photos, i’m stood almost immediately by her side and surprisingly without a camera, even thought i took over 20 photographs that evening of our guest. Often throughout the show, whenever a photograph was taken, i’m seen taking one of someone else. Sometimes the little things make those that dedicated extra time to a production really happy!

A few other great pieces of publcity between Fiona and myself included a video capture from reharsals of one of our leading ladies recieving a letter of good luck from original television and West End star Celia Imrie

Or even competitions in magazines, video teasers, press releases online or even in local papers. Together it all added up for us working together and spreading a bit of the Acorn Antiques love across Sheffield and beyond!

When Saturday night’s performance ended and Acorn Antiques had reached its final point, alongside a great deal of relief, I was immensely proud of all that the show had achieved. I was very proud of my fellow cast members for their performances that week, myself included, but mostly for what Fiona and I had achieved along our journey to March 23rd at 9:45pm. I was then able to join my friends, family and cast members for a well-earned drink and celebration of a fantastic week in Manchesterford.

Acorn Antiques is a truly hilarious show and was brought together by a brilliantly talented cast and the perfect production team.

Its a show and journey I know I will never forget and hopefully be a show I can look back at, remember where my time as Publicity Manager at the Lyceum started, and look back without question and the fondest of memories.

Acorn Antiques … its been a COMPLETE pleasure!

Croft House’s next production at the Lyceum Theatre is the cult-classic Grease!

All being well I will be able to join back with Croft and lead their publicity with Grease! Keeping all crossed.

Until then… make me the one that you want 😉

William J.

Tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

Leave a comment