West End star Sam Buttery talks The Voice, Boy George and being Taboo in Brixton


Sam Buttery; West End actor and star of recent BBC hit show The Voice  talks to me about all things Tom Jones, success following his apperance on The Voice and going crazy each night in Boy George’s smash musical Taboo.

Originally from London, 21 year-old Sam Buttery’s has become one of the countries most recognisable vocalists having been selected to appear on music icon Tom Jones’ team on the new BBC talent show, The Voice.

Earlier this year, 20-year-old Sam chose Adele’s hit-song ‘Set Fire To The Rain’ and amazed judges with his voice. Music icon Sir Tom saw potential, pressed his button and added the Tom Jones superfan to his team.

W: Sam, thank you for talking to me.

S: You’re very welcome.

W: So, The Voice! Not exactly a bad way to launch yourself into the public eye. How did all that come about?

S: I saw it advertised on BBC One and it just felt right to go for it.

W: What was it like when Tom Jones turned around for you?

S: It was such a surreal amazing thing, I loved it.

W: You mentioned at your audition that you are a big fan of Tom’s?

S: I am and always have been a very big fan of Tom’s, along with my Dad. I always sang his songs when I was little! Even at school! (laughs)

W: Would you go back on The Voice if you could do it all again?

S: It was stressful and surreal; almost indescribable.

W: Following your appearance on The Voice, how did your life change? Was it as overnight as people are lead to believe?

S: In all honesty, it was a long hard slog to try and forge a career after leaving the show. It is not quite overnight as it is sometimes perceived.

W: What was it like performing on prime-time BBC1 week-after-week?

S: I don’t know if I would go back and do it ALL again. I would go back and work with Tom again without any doubt! I don’t regret anything however.

Sam’s first audition on The Voice.

W: What was your audition process like for Taboo? I imagine rather different to The Voice? S: The audition process was all very surreal. I attended a function at the Tate Modern hosted by George. My friend Daniel Lismore, whose guest I was, introduced me to George who asked me to audition for Taboo. Anne Vosser, the lovely casting director, contacted me and I did one audition and landed the role!

W: And you follow in some rather large footsteps with Leigh Bowery? Matt Lucas and Boy George himself to name but a few.

S: Very large footsteps! But, what an honour and a challenge.

W: And now you’re in Taboo at the Brixton Club House?

S: Yes I am in Taboo! Which is such amazing fun! Even before the voice I have always wanted to pursue a career in musical theatre!

W: I actually came to see the show back in late 2012 but due to illness was cancelled. The show really is a gruelling evening for the cast then?

S: It’s extremely hard work as it was a new venue and such a strange space. It was such a tiny building so once one person was sick, everyone was.

W: Earlier this year there was your first cast change. What’s it like remaining with a cast but have new faces to work with each night?

S: Its great to change cast as it keeps the show fresh.

W: You worked alongside some West End regulars and some fresh-faced recent graduates. How did you find that? 

S: I have always been a musical theatre fan girl/geek so to work alongside west end performers was amazing for me. I have loved theatre from the age of about 10! No, I have never had any formal training, apart from about four singing lessons.

W: Did Boy George ever give you feedback on your version of Leigh? I imagine getting his blessing would be the biggest of compliments? 

S: He said he loved it; dream. (laughs)

Sam’s appearance with Boy George on ITV’s This Morning from September 2012 

W: Had you seen previous productions of Taboo before you were cast? 

S: I had never seen any other productions actually.

W: ‘Pretty Lies’ and ‘Petrified’ are actually two of my favourite musical theatre songs and both are from Taboo. Do you have any favourites? 

S: My favourite songs from the show are stranger in this world and Il adore. My favourite musical theatre songs changed every day, at the moment anything from A Chorus Line/ People… My Man…. Anything Barbra!

W: And finally, do you have any plans once you leave Taboo?

S: I am auditioning like a goodun’ at the moment and recording various stuff! Watch this space. (laughs)

W: Sam, thank you very much and the best of luck with your final weeks in Taboo!

Tickets for Taboo and available online at www.taboothemusical.co.uk

Header and all photographs copyright to TabooinBrixton and @samuelbuttery. 

Tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

Leave a comment